Club Events - 2020
Back to Back Relay  (Runners are paired up - the fastest with the slowest, they run opposite directions around a set course and when they meet, they turn around and run back the way they went out. Both team members cross the finish line together)

Watchless Run  (Runners estimate a time for a set 10km or 5km course and see who can get the closest to their time - without using any watches or timing devices)

Squire Cup Races (Hosted by Copland/Squire family), 1267 Backline Rd, Maungati. Start at 1:30pm - Prizegiving after the event

The Squire Cup is the oldest race organised by the club, with it first being held in 1937 and has been competed for every year since. The race was held on and around the Squire family farm in Maungati over a tough hilly course and was moved in 1985 to the Fairview course until 2011, when it returned to Maungati. The cup was donated by Tom Squire who went on to become the president and during the 1950's the patron of the Timaru Harrier Club (now called Run Timaru). Duncan Squire (Tom Squire's son) also became Patron of the club during the 1970's (and had also won a Canterbury Cross Country senior men's title while running for the club) and moved the race to the Fairview location when he retired from the family farm.
The Squire Cup has been proudly hosted & supported so far by 3 generations of the Squire family (Tom, Duncan & now Alister Squire & his sister Annthea Copland) and is one of the club's most prestigious races. The races in Maungati were supported by the entire community with the marking out the course and social events after the race. Several trophies have been donated by them - the Maungati Residents Cup (senior colts/under 16 & under 18 boys) and the Silverstream Cup (under 14 boys) - presented in the 1960's and is named after the Squire's family farm 'Silverstream'. The Jubilee Cup (Senior, Masters & Junior women) was presented to celebrate the 50th running of the event. Alister Squire even has a trophy in his name - the AT Squire trophy for under 12 Boys
The Squire Cup race has always been a well contested and difficult race to win - especially more than once. Only 2 people have managed to win the race 4 times - Angus Dellow (1948, 1950, 1981 & 1998) - although it did take over 50 years to achieve this feat and Peter Gardner (2000, 2002, 2012 & 2015).
Current club members who have won the Squire Cup are - Ian Clarkson (1972), Mark Peters (1982, 1988), Alister Lester (1984), Michael Fox (2004), Mario Oostendorp (2005), Walter Hume (2006, 2010), Sam Wreford (2014), Phil Begg (2016), Ben Wreford (2017), Andy Hilton (2018) and Peter Burton (2019).

View all previous Squire Cup winners (pdf)

Cross Country Championships, Torepe Fields, Temuka (Temuka Domain). Start at 1:30pm

Road Championships, Afghan Street (behind Railway Station), Pleasant Point. Start at 1:30pm